Mauri Ora Distance Learning – 12 months study

Tihei Mauri Ora – I breathe therefore I am!

My 12 month distance learning programme “Mauri Ora” has now come to an end! I’ve had a fantastic time researching, learning and discovering not only about the natural environment, history and culture of New Zealand and the Maori but I’ve also learnt so much about myself : – )

I feel I have wholeheartedly embraced this whole process of learning and in doing so I’ve grown both spiritually and emotionally. I’m really proud and can’t wait to get my National Certificate in Maori (Te Waharoa) Level 2  in the mail : – )

Here is a link to the blog designed by the managers of Mauri Ora Licensing to provide free learning resources to those interested in NZ Maori culture and language.
Mauri Ora – Mauri Global


Erosion pendant pictured by Deanna Gracie©


….. and this song ‘Born of Greatness’ was written by Hohepa Tamehana.

I hope you enjoy it!

Here is the English translation of the song : – )

I am a seed
Scattered from Rangiatea
And I can never be lost
I am a seed, born of greatness
Descended from a line of chiefs,
I am a seed.

Wherever I may roam
I will hold fast to my traditions.
My language is my cherished possession
My language is the object of my affection
My precious adornment
My language is my strength,
An ornament of grace

Whenever I stand,
I am clothed by my ancestors
My pride I will show
That you may know who I am
I am a warrior, a survivor
I am a remnant

Wherever I may roam
I will hold fast to my traditions.
My language is my cherished possession
My treasured Tiger Shell
My precious ornament
My language is my strength,
An ornament of grace

Thanks for visiting!

Deanna Gracie : – )

Leave a Reply

